Plus sized riders at Six Flags Great America in Gurnee, Illinois

For my first ever blog post, I am going to discuss some of the rides at Six Flags Great America in Gurnee, Illinois. I went for the first time ever in the beginning of July, and kind of forgot that I was a plus size. Now, I’m a very awkward plus size. At the time of writing, I wear a size 20 pant but a 22W in dresses. I basically look like a block.

Anyways, it didn’t occur to me that I wouldn’t fit on some of the rides. I am 5’4″ and about 240 lbs. and for anyone that wants to come on here and fire shots, screw off bc this post is for people that genuinely need it. So let’s get moving.

At first, things were okay. We started on Superman. Superman was an easy fit for me. It’s an over the head harness thing orwhatever those are, and they lock in. There was no additional seatbelt or anything. I fit on that one without any issues. American Eagle and Viper are both classic wooden roller coasters secured by a lap bar and seatbelt. I think viper just had the lap bar. Those were both good fits. They’re both a tight fit when you sit next to another person, but it worked. The seatbelt had a few exta inches for me and the lap bar went down pretty far. We also did the Raging Rapids Raft Ride and that was a lot of fun. There’s lots of seatbelt room and I fit well there with my best friend who is about average sixed. (PSA: YOU WILL GET SOAKED)

Next we’re going to talk about V2 (Vertical Velocity), X-Flight, and Raging Bull. I did not fit on V2. It’s an impulse coaster, however, the seats are not made for plus sizes. V2 is secured by one of the over-the-head restraints and the restraints then buckle into the chair. The buckle did not have enough room. The restraint was fine, but there justr wasn’t enough inches on the buckle, so I had to opt out of V2. X-Flight was a very tight fit. I have been told that X-Flight has a row with “big boy” seats with red seatbelts. They are either in row 4 or 5, but I’m not positive. I rode towards the end of the car, so I was in a regular people car. X-Flight is secured by an over-the-head restraint with an extra belt to attach it. This one required some help from the ride assossciate. It was a lot of sucking in and him pushing to get the belt in, but it was really close. I was super relieved that I was actually able to go on it. I think it was one of my favorite rides. Also, X-Flight is a ride that has a height requirement. If you’re too tall,you can’t ride it due to the keyhole slot part of the ride. And a piece of advice, when the line splits off, try and get into the left line. You will end up on the right side of the track and it will take you right over the water that’s by the ride. Very scenic. Raging Bull seemed okay. Raging Bull is only secured by a lap bar, and I got into that relatively easily. The ride assossciate came buy and told me to pull as he pushed on the restraint, but I think it was just to secure it. Definitely don’t count on fitting in that one if you are much bigger than me. Also a tip for this one: stay away from row 8 on the yellow train for the seats are for some reason substantially smaller.

I did not get to go on either of the Batman rides, or Goliath due to long wait times. Goliath was only running on one car for the majority of the day which made it ridiculously hard to get on. However, I have heard from my other plus size friends that there is plenty of seatbelt and a good lap bar on that one so we should fit, I haven’t found anyone that’s had an issue on goliath. I did read that the Batman ride (the bigger outdoor one) is harder to fit on and that the seats are similar to V2, but I’m not sure how much truth there is to that.

RIDES YOU PROBABLY CANNOT COUNT ON:

Vertical Velocity (V2)

Revolution

King Chaos

Giant Drop

Batman the Ride (Not sure about the Dark Night)

Also, I cannot stress enough that in front of many of the rides, there are test seats. USE THEM. It will definitely save you the embarrassment of getting on the ride and then getting kicked off. I learned that the hard way. Moral of the story is that for us plus sizes, things are a lot more difficult to fit on or in. This advice definitely won’t work for everyone, especially considering I’m short as hell and look like a block. People wear their weight differently. It’s just a fact. SO! If you go to Six Flags, ENJOY YOURSELF! It’s a lot of fun. Just be prepared for what might happen. (: Be safe!

xoxo

-Jen

16 thoughts on “Plus sized riders at Six Flags Great America in Gurnee, Illinois

  1. None of the rollercoasters, save the demon and whizzer, will fit women who wear over a size 20 in pants, if the majority of their weight is in their rear. The harness will go down, but their hips will have to be sideways, it’s not pleasant. I wear a size 20 on bottom, but can wear a 18 dress or xl top without problem, but their is no way my behind is going to fit in their narrow seats. Just a heads up for bottom heavy females.

    Like

  2. I went last year for Fright Fest and I can tell you this, Demon, Viper, Whizzer, Batman:The Dark Night (indoor ride) were a great fit for me and I’m a DD and wear 22 pants. X-Flight was a little tight on my thighs it was a bit difficult when it came to my boobs lol and the employee only had to adjust the seat-belt and Batman I can say was tight for me but I still manged to go on though. The other rides had long wait times and the time that we went it dropped to 32 degrees when it was the night time. I’m a little nervous because I’m going back this Saturday and I’m hoping I can fit again on X-Flight and Batman and the other rides we couldn’t go on last year. My weight is like a roller coaster for me one minute I go down another minute I go up :/

    Like

  3. My friend tried to go on Goliath & she’s a little smaller than you….the seatbelts did not fit. However, she did fit on Batman!

    Like

  4. I am planning on going here in a few weeks, but I am very concerned about my weight on rides. I wear size 26 in dress pants, but they are baggy enough around my middle to be able to be pulled down without unzipping/unbuttoning. I wear a 3xl in womens, and am a DDD cup. I think that it is mostly evenly proportioned, although I do have a slight spare tire and my hips are larger. I have never been on a ride at this size ( I was an xs before), and this will be my first time at an actual amusement park that isn’t the state fair. But I don’t want to go if I won’t be able to get the full experience. Do you think if be okay?

    Like

  5. I couldn’t fit on the Dark Knight because of my stomach and I wear a size 24 in pants and 3xl in shirts I’m 5’7 in a half. I did not try to see if I could fit on other rides because I felt so embarrassed, and ashamed that I couldn’t fit. It felt like I was holding my friends back from rides cause I couldn’t fit. I broke down crying and walked away to be by myself. This was for my senior trip.

    Like

    1. Amber, you need to come to the park with us when we go. You will have fun, and nobody in our group will judge. We’re pros at which rides we will fit in, and you will make new like-minded friends. We try to get there at least once a week this summer.

      Like

  6. My friends and I are season pass holders, and some of us are on the larger side, so we go often. The meal plan is a deal that cannot be beat! This is great information to know ahead of time, and you are spot on. I want to add that a ride operator told our group this summer, that the newer red train on Goliath has slightly larger seat belts/restraints.
    Thank you very much for this post! It is great information to know before heading to a ride.

    Like

  7. I literally was at Fright Fest Last night and decided to search the internet for any post about the rides at Great America. Ive gained weight in the last couple of years. And it never crossed my mind that I wouldnt fit on any rides. Im 5’3, 229lbs, and a 42DDD. Most, rides I had to literally smash my boobs down to get the harness over. It was no biggy, most of my friends ans I laughed it off. However, I couldnt ride the Goliath because the seat belt was literally 2 inches from closing. I had on an Addiad hoodie and that was it. I was embarrassed until a thinner gentlement couldnt ride. And a couple who were slightly overweight couldnt either. Six Flags really needs to do more accomdate plus side riders.

    Like

  8. Thank you so much for this blog post! I wish I read it before I went. I’ve been to Six Flags before and have always been a plus size gal, but in the past years I’ve definitely put some more weight on. I actually didn’t even think it would be a problem. We went on American Eagle, tight, but fine. Then a new ride next to it, Maxx Force, with no problems. Thennn came what was my favorite ride, Raging Bull. Ironically I was in Row 8 on the Yellow Train (what are the odds?). Yeah, they tried, but lap bar wouldn’t secure. I was holding up the ride, so got off. It was embarrassing AF. When the next car pulled in, I tried to ask if I could try again toward the front but they just acted like they didn’t hear me. I was also mad because I waited an hour to ride that. I went off a cried a little. I then googled “plus size rides great america” and found your blog post. Reading it while waiting for my friends really really helped. Helped me to know that I wasn’t alone. And that though it was shitty and embarrassing, there isn’t anything ‘wrong’ with me. I was able to regroup myself and not let it ruin the rest of the day. We later went on the Justice League one and I had no problem. Ended the day with a funnel cake sundae 🙂

    Like

    1. I should note that I’m 5’9, weigh roughly 300 pounds, size 24 jeans. Carry much of my weight in my hips and stomach. Also didn’t help I just got my period the day before so was quite bloated.

      Like

  9. Thanks so much for this post! I’ve been having anxiety about going with my family tomorrow, as I haven’t been to this park since I was in high school and have put on some weight.

    Like

  10. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. thanks a lot

    Like

Leave a comment